The Ferry Woman of Me

13 11 2006

I am the one who opens my arms to you inviting you into my embrace
My hips are wide and my lap is large
I am the one who strokes your hair and says “there, there” as we rock
Your tears wet my shawl.

I am the one who says both and
My love for you is both fierce and tender
I am the one who does not push or pry
Your gratitude reflects in my eyes.

I am the one who hears your pleas
My attention does not wander as you cry in pain
I am the one who isn’t bored with all the details
You are heard

Together we are mending ourselves
The Ferry Woman of me and I.
Rocking, crying, talking, laughing
I am she and she is I.

Soulwright

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 11 2006
Heather Blakey

Ah! You have captured the essence of the Ferry Woman and will inspire me to draw more of them so that I have a very complete collection.

14 11 2006
Soulwright

Oh! that’s exciting – more drawings! Makes me happy!

Leave a Reply

